Types of ielts test

Types of IELTS Test

The IELTS exam has three different types:

  • I. Academic Test
  • II. General Training Test
  • III. IELTS test for UK Visa

The test takers first need to understand these aspects before registering for the IELTS test. These are the main reasons that affect the score grading of the candidates during the exam. The type of test depends on the choice of candidate.

IELTS Academic Test

Take the IELTS Academic test if you are planning to study in higher education either undergraduate or postgraduate level, or if you are interested in applying in a professional organization for work purposes.

The main purpose of taking the IELTS test is to examine whether a candidate is ready to begin training or studying in those countries where English is a language of communication.

IELTS General

IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is for those who are planning to complete their secondary education, work experience or training program in countries where English is a primary language.

The candidate who is also planning to immigrate to an English speaking country will also choose the General Training IELTS test.

IELTS Test for United Kingdom (UK) Visa

The test-takers, who are planning to work-study or live in the United Kingdom (UK), will select the ILETS test for the UK. This is a specific test for United Kingdom (UK) visas and immigration (UKVI).

Note: Both Academic and General Training IELTS have the same exam pattern for listening and speaking but exam matter differs for the Reading and writing part.